Doctor and Patient – Taking Time for the Self on the Path to Becoming a Doctor

There is always this expectation that at some point things will turn around. The interns say, ‘When I finish internship and become a second-year resident, things will get better.’ The residents say, ‘When I finish training, I will finally have balance again.’ And doctors in practice may believe that they will find more balance once they have retired.

I imagine that most doctors have thought about this at some point in time in their careers…. perpetual(ly) delayed gratification. Unless of course it is your work that gratifies you???

Personally I find that committing myself to take the time to enjoy my family, hobbies and interests in part of what defines me as a physician…

About hjluks

A busy Academic Orthopedic Surgeon, Digital Strategist, Chief Medical Officer and father... intently and efficiently navigating the intersection of Social Media and Health Care.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

